Skip links

Gluten Free Explanation

Most enzymes are produced by a fermentation process which includes a media. The fermentation media is fed a sterilized combination of various carbohydrates and protein derived from sources such as dairy, soy and wheat. The old adage “you are what you eat” applies to fermentation media as well and the best means of producing an enzyme which is effective in digesting a particular food source is to feed the fermentation media that same food source. For example, some of our digestive enzyme formulas contain the trademarked ingredient Glutalytic®, a very effective form of an Endo-Peptidase Complex which helps digest gluten proteins. Undigested gluten proteins can trigger the immune system to attack the inner lining of the intestinal wall, resulting in various levels of gluten sensitivity.

Glutalytic® is produced by feeding wheat to a fermentation media which must in turn create effective enzymes in order to digest the wheat as a food source. The enzymes which are produced are then harvested, purified and used to help minimize the effects of gluten consumed by those with a gluten sensitivity.

When any food source classified as an allergen is used as part of a nutrient mixture given to a fermentation media, FDA Regulations may require that the allergen is stated on the label. Such is the case with wheat given there are no lower limits set by the FDA which allows a company to avoid reflecting a wheat allergen if wheat is used at any stage of production. However, gluten is classified as a potential sensitivity and not as an allergen. The FDA Regulations do provide limits on gluten which allow a “Gluten-Free” statement to be reflected on a product label provided it meets those limitations. Every batch of Glutalytic® is tested to make sure that it qualifies as a “Gluten-Free” ingredient.
Based on the details above, a formula such as our Easy Eating which includes Glutalytic® must bear a wheat allergen, but may also be classified as “Gluten-Free”.